Montys Beads
Login Login / Sign Up
Call us Tue - Sat (10:00 - 17:00) on:
01392 413811

Colour Search
  • Red
  • Orange
  • Yellow
  • Green
  • Turquoise
  • Blue
  • Purple
  • Pink
  • Brown
  • White
  • Grey
  • Black
  • Metallic
  • Multi-Coloured

Recent Tweets

  • Image of Devon Bead Fair Ticket 2017

    Devon Bead Fair Ticket 2017
    £3.00



Lessons

Jewellery Making Lessons

All of our workshops and experience sessions include all the materials you need and you will keep the jewellery you make. Generally we use real gemstones, freshwater pearls and sterling silver components.

Beginners Stringing Lesson - £25.00 (2 Hours)
In this lesson you will make three beautiful pieces of jewellery, learning basic techniques to enable you to make a wide variety of your own designs.

Fri 05 Jan Beginners Stringing 10:30 - 12:30

Thu 18 Jan Beginners Stringing 13:30 - 15:30

Fri 02 Feb Beginners Stringing 13:30 - 15:30

Thu 08 Feb Beginners Stringing 10:30 - 12:30

Fri 09 Mar Beginners Stringing 10:30 - 12:30

Fri 23 Mar Beginners Stringing 10:30 - 12:30


Intermediate Stringing Classes - Move onto the next level - £45.00 (2.5 Hours)

Sat 20 Jan Intermediate Stringing 10:30 - 13:30

Wirework Workshop - £30.00 (2 Hours)

In this workshop we teach you to use sterling silver wire to make wrapped loops for fantastic earrings, pendants, bracelets and beaded necklaces.

Fri 05 Jan Wire Wrapping 13:30 - 15:30

Sat 13 Jan Wire Wrapping 10:30 - 12:30

Thu 18 Jan Wire Wrapping 10:30 - 12:30

Wed 07 Feb Wire Wrapping 10:30 - 12:30

Sat 10 Feb Wire Wrapping 10:30 - 12:30

Fri 09 Mar Wire Wrapping 13:30 - 15:30

Wed 21 Mar Wire Wrapping 10:30 - 12:30

Pearl Knotting - £30.00 (2.5 Hours)

You will learn how to knot pearls using traditional silk. You will take home a real pearl bracelet with sterling silver clasp.

Wed 10 Jan Pearl Knotting 10:30 - 13:00

Sat 03 Feb Pearl Knotting 10:30 - 13:00

Wed 14 Mar Pearl Knotting 10:30 - 13:00

Introduction to Precious Metal Clay - £75.00 (5 Hours, including a break)

In just 5 hours you will learn the basics of working with PMC - moulding and shaping, drying, firing and finishing. You will make and take home a pair of earrings and a pendant.

Thu 11 Jan PMC - Beginners 10:00 - 15:30

Thu 22 Feb PMC - Beginners 10:00 - 15:30


Intermediate PMC - Learn some new, more complex techniques and build 3D designs. 5 Hours - £150

Sat 24 Mar PMC - Intermediate 10:00 - 15:30

Sat 27 Jan PMC - Intermediate 10:00 - 15:30

Silver Finding Design & Make - £50.00 (3 Hours)

We will teach you to design and make sterling silver toggles and ‘S’ clasps. In the workshop you will learn to cut, shape, pattern and finish sterling silver to create your own individual clasps.

Fri 16 Mar Findings Design & Make 10:30 - 13:00

Silversmithing @ Monty’s

Experience Sessions @ Monty’s - £65 for 4 hours

Find the perfect gift for any occasion with our experience sessions. Try something new or treat your friends and family. Our 4 hour Sessions are tailored for up to four people with limited or no previous silversmithing experience. Students receive plenty of one to one time in our project-led Silversmithing sessions.

Materials are included in these sessions and our fully equipped studio has everything you need for your class... Including plenty of tea and coffee!

Fri 23 Feb Experience Session - Earrings 10:00 - 14:00

Sat 10 Mar Experience Session - Earrings 10:00 - 14:00

Sat 06 Jan Experience Session - Rings 10:00 - 14:00

Fri 26 Jan Experience Session - Rings 10:00 - 14:00

Fri 02 Mar Experience Session - Rings 10:00 - 14:00

Thu 29 Mar Experience Session - Rings 10:00 - 14:00

Beginners Silversmithing Course - 4 Weeks £120

This is the perfect starter course for those who want to learn the basics of silver jewellery making. At Monty’s we teach traditional silversmithing techniques - this course is suited to complete beginners. You will make one or two pieces of silver jewellery as you learn.

Fri 19 Jan Beginners Silversmithing Wk1 18:00 - 20:30

Fri 26 Jan Beginners Silversmithing Wk2 18:00 - 20:30

Fri 02 Feb Beginners Silversmithing Wk3 18:00 - 20:30

Fri 09 Feb Beginners Silversmithing Wk4 18:00 - 20:30

Stone Setting Course - 4 Weeks £140

In this course students will make a pair of gemstone-set silver earrings or a gemstone-set ring.

Thu 01 Mar Stone Setting Wk1 18:00 - 20:30

Thu 08 Mar Stone Setting Wk2 18:00 - 20:30

Thu 15 Mar Stone Setting Wk3 18:00 - 20:30

Thu 22 Mar Stone Setting Wk4 18:00 - 20:30

Silver bullion & gemstones not included in our 4 week courses, but are available to buy at Monty’s Beads. Tools, equipment and solder are provided

Supervised Bench Time - £15 per hour

Already completed on of our courses or have experience and want to do your own thing with guidance from one of our tutors? We can take up to six silversmiths in our studio.

Thu 25 Jan Bench time Between 10am and 4pm

Thu 01 Feb Bench Time Between 10am and 4pm

Wed 21 Feb Bench time Between 10am and 4pm

Wed 28 Mar Bench time Between 10am and 4pm